Governance and organisational structure

Our organisational structure.

ARBV organisational structure

Architects Registration Board of Victoria

  • Download' ARBV organisational structure'


ARBV Board

The ARBV Board is responsible for performing statutory decision-making functions and powers conferred by the Architects Act 1991 (the Act) and the Architects Regulations 2015. The ARBV Board also provides leadership, strategic guidance and policy direction in addition to overseeing implementation of policies and initiatives.

In accordance with section 47 of the Act, the Board comprises up to ten members appointed on a representative basis with the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson elected by the members.

The Board is assisted by committees and working groups. It is also responsible for constituting the independent Architects Tribunal to conduct inquiries concerning architects and their fitness to practise or professional conduct. The Act prohibits a person being concurrently a member of the ARBV Board and the Architects Tribunal.

The Board membership of the ARBV at 30 June 2022 was as follows:

  • Dr Giorgio Marfella, PhD, M.Arch, RAIA (Chairperson)
    Representative of architects nominated by Councils of approved schools of architecture.
  • Richard Salter, B.Eng. (Hons), B.Sc. (Deputy Chairperson)
    Representative of Professional Building Industry Organisations nominated by the Housing Industry Association (Vic).
  • Bruce Allen, B.Arch, M.Arch, M.B.A.

Elected representative of architects

  • Sophie Cleland, B.Arch (Hons)

Architect nominated from panel submitted by the Australian Institute of Architects (AIA)

  • Mark Curry, B.AppSc, BSW

Consumer representative nominated by the Minister for Consumer Affairs (Victoria)

  • Richard Drew, B.Eng (Hons), M.DesS, GradCertEng

Representative of the Institution of Engineers, Institute of Surveyors, Institute of Quantity

Surveyors and Royal Australian Planning Institute

  • Stefan Preuss, Dipl. Ing Arch, MSc.Arch, GAICD

Practising senior government architect nominated by the Office of Victorian Government Architect

  • Danielle Roche, B.Eng (Hons), MWRMgt

Consumer representative nominated by the Minister for Consumer Affairs (Victoria)

Directors whose term expired or who resigned during 2021-22 were:

  • Jenny Gretgrix, B.Eng (Hons)
    Representative of professional building industry organisations nominated by the Housing Industry Association (Victoria).

Term of appointment: 6 October 2020 to 8 February 2022.

Board Committees

The ARBV Board is supported by two committees:

Audit and Risk Committee

The purpose of the Audit and Risk Committee is to assist the Board to fulfil its statutory oversight responsibilities relating to the Financial Management Act 1994 (FMA) and associated Standing Directions 2018 issued by the Assistant Treasurer under Section 8 of the FMA. Members of the Audit and Risk Committee are appointed by the Board in accordance with the Committee’s Charter.

Meetings are held at least four times a year, and at other times on request of a committee member or the internal or external auditor. The Committee’s key responsibilities are to:

#BBD0E0 »