The ARBV Board

Information about the Board's composition and the Charter that governs its activities.

About the ARBV Board

The Board leads the ARBV and sets the organisation's strategic direction. It also monitors ARBV's operations and policies.

The Board has up to 10 members, including representatives as follows:

  • consumer representative, nominated by the Minister for Consumer Affairs
  • senior government architect, nominated by the Victorian Government Architect's Office
  • industry
  • architectural schools
  • allied industries.

This Minister for the purposes of the Act is the Minister for Planning, the Hon. Sonya Kilkenny.


Current Board members

Dr Giorgio Marfella, Chairperson, PhD, M.Arch

Representative of approved schools of architecture appointed by the Minister for Planning.

Sophie Cleland, Deputy Chairperson, B.Arch (Hons) 

Architect nominated from panel submitted by the Australian Institute of Architects (AIA).

Bruce Allen, B.Arch, M.Arch, M.B.A.

Elected representative of architects.

Mark Curry, B.AppSc, BSW

Consumer representative nominated by the Minister for Consumer Affairs (Victoria).

Richard Drew, B.Eng (Hons), M.DesS, GradCertEng

Representative of the Institution of Engineers, Institute of Surveyors, Institute of Quantity Surveyors and Royal Australian Planning Institute.

Stefan Preuss, Dipl. Ing Arch, MSc.Arch, GAICD

Practising senior government architect nominated by the Office of Victorian Government Architect.

Sally Wills, Adv. Dip. Building Design (Architectural)

Representative of professional building industry organisations.

Board Charter