Site Name

Overseas Registered Architects

AACA offers a pathway to registration for some overseas qualified architect practitioners, called the Experienced Practitioner Assessment Program (EPA). Using a portfolio of complex projects, candidates need to demonstrate relevant Executive level experience. Completion of the EPA program allows candidates to apply for registration with the relevant state or territory Board.

Candidates can seek further information on this pathway from the AACA website and should contact AACA directly with queries.

In each State and Territory of Australia it is a legal requirement that any person using the title ‘architect’ or offering services to the public as an architect, must be registered with the Architects’ Board in that jurisdiction.

Within the provisions of the Architects Act 1991 and Architects Regulations 2015, use of the title ‘architect’ or the ‘architectural services’, ‘architectural design’ or ‘architectural design services’ for business purposes in Victoria requires registration with the Architects Registration Board of Victoria (ARBV) and compliance with the provisions of the Act.

The key requirements for registration are:

  • Successful completion of a prescribed course of study or approved equivalent
  • At least two years of practical experience
  • Successful completion of the Architectural Practice Examination (APE) or other approved pathway
  • Registration by the Architects Registration Board

Architectural companies and partnerships must also be approved separate from individual registration.

AACA: Overseas Qualifications Assessment (OQA)

Overseas qualifications must be approved via the AACA process of review where there is no reciprocity between Australia and other countries, and overseas practitioners must satisfactorily complete the Architectural Practice Examination (APE).

The AACA uses the Overseas Qualification Assessment (OQA) process to assess overseas academic qualifications for migration and registration purposes. The assessment of overseas qualifications is a two-stage process:

  • Stage 1 – Provisional Assessment of academic qualifications in architecture
  • Stage 2 – Final Assessment and verification of an overseas qualification which involves an interview to examine in detail the content of the course leading to an applicant’s qualification and a portfolio of the applicant’s student and/or professional work.

The two-stage OQA process is used to determine an overseas academic qualifications’ comparability with a current Australian accredited qualification in architecture. Queries should be directed to AACA.

Once an applicant’s qualification has been deemed comparable they are eligible to undertake the APE, successful completion of which is required before applying for registration as an architect in a state or territory in Australia.